Romanticising Escapism

The art of romanticising escapism.

This was probably the first thing I mastered in my 20 years here on this wonderful little planet.

Romanticising escapism means looking through rose-tinted glasses at all the endless number of places to travel to, the endless number of places to escape to. I have always found solace in daydreaming. There is something undeniably enticing about having the ability to see yourself in so many places, to get away from everything that scares you, with boundless possibilities.

There was an interview I listened to with Adele when she was talking about the Spice Girls, she said, “it was these five ordinary girls who did so well and just, like, got out. And I was like ‘I want to get out’. I don’t know what I want to get out of, but I want to get out.” Most days, I feel the same way. I want to get out of here, out of this life – I don’t know why, but I do. There are days when I’m sitting on the bus heading to university, looking out of the window and I am overcome by this desire to run as fast as I can.

Don’t ask me where I’m heading, but I’m on my way.

 

Freeing Freida

Published by Safiyya

A writer from London searching for a little escapism.

Leave a comment